Recipe: Banana Coconut Pancakes

Mmmm, pancakes. I’ve never been able to make a perfectly fluffy batch of pancakes, so I’ve resorted to making pancake muffins for the kids. They love them and no more flipping for me! So naturally I had to make things harder on myself and create a low carb delicious pancake for the diabetic. Disclaimer: These are a bitch to flip. I find that if I make them smaller, and spray the spatula, it helps in the flipping. And you have to do a wiggling jiggling thing up the side of the pan. But still expect at least one to flop instead of flip.

This will make enough for either one hungry husband or one mom and one kid.

Banana Coconut Pancakes

IMAG0450

You will need all this stuff. Coffee is just for sanity.

1 banana

2 eggs

1/2 cap vanilla extract

1 Tablespoon almond flour/meal

1 T shredded coconut

1 T coconut flour (lightly packed, like you would for brown sugar)

nonstick cooking spray or a light oil for the pan


In a medium bowl mash the banana until it’s nice and smooth.

Add eggs, whisk until fully combined.

Add vanilla extract, stir.

Yes, I'm using a hand mixer beater thing instead of a whisk. My whisk was dirty. Don't judge me.

Yes, I’m using a hand mixer beater thing instead of a whisk. My whisk was dirty. Don’t judge me.

Add almond flour, coconut, and coconut flour. Stir until smooth.

*I like to add the shredded coconut to make the coconut flavor more obvious. Coconut flour definitely has a distinct flavor to it. Luckily we love us some coconut, so I add the shredded coconut to make it bolder.

Heat your best non-stick pan to a medium low, maybe lower than you would regular pancakes. Spray generously or oil well.

Pour in your batter, 1/4 cup or less. Don’t crowd the pan, because you’ll need room to flip. The smaller the better.

Cook until, like regular pancakes, the edges start to dry, and bubbles start to pop.

My pan wasn't being nice and these are darker than I would like, but still tasted good.

My pan wasn’t being nice and these are darker than I would like, but still tasted good.

Serve with fresh fruit, agave nectar, whatever you want. We happened to have whippred cream (it was low in sugar!) the first time we tried this and it was faaaaaaantastic.

Family rating:

the girl: “But I don’t like coconut, Mommy.”

the boy: “Mmmm! Good! More?”

the diabetic: “Hon, these are great. If I ordered these in a restaurant I would not be disappointed. These don’t even taste healthy. Those were good babe.”

I don’t think he liked them.

Leave a Reply

