Recipe: Zucchini Lasagna

This dish was one of the first things I made the hubs after finding out he was diabetic, and he. freaking. loved. it. And he’d never been a fan of zucchini in the first place (he would claim it tasted “metallic.” *insert eye roll here*) The first time I made this was the best; unfortunately, I didn’t write anything down so now I wing it every time. I guarantee you will not miss the pasta in this. It is so hearty and filling!

This recipe serves 2 hungry adults, or 2 adults and 1 kid, or 2 adults and enough for lunch the next day

Zucchini Lasagna*

You will need all this. Or most of it. Whatever.

You will need all this. Or most of it. Whatever.

*This recipe is still under construction/not perfect, so cook at your own risk! Or just use it as inspiration to experiment for yourself!

2 medium zucchini

2-3 slices cheese, anything light colored and melty, I use havarti because it’s what I have

2 handfuls frozen spinach

1/3 lb ground turkey, or ground beef, or whatever you have. I had no time to thaw the ground turkey so I just used a couple slices turkey lunch meat.

Spaghetti Sauce (watch for sugar content!)

Parmesan cheese

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Maybe 375. Line a 8×8 pan with foil and lightly oil if you want to make your life easier.

Handy dandy slicer thing.

Handy dandy slicer thing.

Peel zucchini, trim off the ends, cut in half. slice maybe 1/4 inch thick, or use a handy dandy slicer thing if you have one. I have one.

Spread a light layer of sauce on the bottom, just enough to act as a glue to keep the zucchini slices in place.

Layer zucchini, then spinach, meat, cheese, then sauce. Repeat. I also flip the next layer of zucchini so they go the other way. I don’t think it makes a difference, to be honest with you.

Top with any extra cheese and extra parmesan.

Bake for 20-30 minutes or so. I just keep checking by how easy a knife comes out of it, if it sticks a bit then the zucchini isn’t cooked all the way through. If you let it sit for a bit after it comes out, some of the excess liquid will get absorbed.

Note: It comes out watery. I’m sure if i blanched the zucchini a bit beforehand, or thawed and drained the spinach before too, it would help, but keep in mind while I’m cooking this I’m making something for the kids, so quite honestly i don’t care.

Edit: I added chopped cauliflower too. Even better if you are browning the meat first, add to that pan so it takes on that deliciousness as well. About a handful of florets or so. Anything left over gets chopped even finer and added to the kids’ sauce.

Family Rating:

Girl: “No.”

Boy: “Mmmm! Good! Pasta?”

Diabetic: “Dude I’m so FULL! Are you sure there’s no pasta in there?”

Leave a Reply

